Absolute Divorce

Flat-Fee Uncontested Divorce 

Only $895 (Filing Fees Included)

"Trustworthy and fair. Communicates effectively and conscientiously. Knowledgeable and explained the processes in a way I could understand. Highly recommended."
- Ashley G.

Absolute Divorce

We’ve made the process of obtaining an absolute divorce simple with our flat-fee uncontested divorce service. 

Our flat-fee uncontested divorce service is only $895. That fee includes your filing fee (which is currently $225) and the notice of hearing fee (which is currently $20). In other words, our attorney fee is only $650. 

In order to take advantage of the flat-fee uncontested divorce service: 

1) Either you or your spouse must reside in North Carolina and must have done so for at least the past six months; and

2) You have been separated from your spouse for at least one year. 

This flat-fee uncontested divorce service provides you with a judgment of absolute divorce.  It does not include representation for property rights, alimony, child custody or child support.  If you have those issues or are not sure if you have those issues, please contact our firm to schedule a consultation.

If all you are needing is an absolute divorce (i.e., you do not have any other marital claims such as equitable distribution and alimony to resolve), then this is a great hassle-free option. 

Be sure to review the frequently asked questions below. 

Disclaimer: An absolute divorce will terminated any claims for postseparation support, alimony, and equitable distribution. If you have not settled these claims in a separation agreement or filed them in court before the divorce decree is entered, then those rights go away. If you are considering a prenuptial agreement or your prospective spouse has presented you with a draft agreement, you should meet with a family law attorney.

Frequently Asked Questions

An absolute divorce is simply the legal declaration that you and your spouse are no longer married. 

In North Carolina, the only requirements for obtaining an absolute divorce are: 1) that either you or your spouse has been a resident of North Carolina for at least six months prior to filing; and 2) that you and your spouse have lived separate and apart for a period of one year without resuming the marital relationship.

An uncontested divorce is when the parties do not disagree about the date of separation. If the parties do disagree about the date of separation, then the divorce is considered contested. 

There is no requirement that you hire an attorney to handle your absolute divorce. You can represent yourself (what we call pro se). There are, however, benefits to hiring an attorney. 

There are several benefits to hiring an attorney to handle your divorce. First, you know that your divorce will be handled correctly. Obtaining an absolute divorce is not rocket science but there are procedures that must be followed. Failure to follow those procedures could significantly delay or even derail your absolute divorce. Another benefit to hiring an attorney is that you will not have to appear in court. 

As long as your divorce is uncontested (i.e., your spouse is not contesting the date of separation), then you will not need to appear in court.  

Typically, the divorce process takes about 60 days. The largest factor in determining the length of time is how long it takes to serve your spouse. 

  • Click the button above that says “Click Here to Retain Our Divorce Attorney.” 
  • Complete the online form (questionaire). 
  • Pay the flat-fee using our secure payment portal. 
  • Review the paperwork that will be emailed to you (typically within two business days of completing the online form). 
  • Sign the documents before a notary public and return them to our office. 
  • YOUR PART IS DONE!
  • We will file the divorce papers with the court and serve them on your spouse (typically via certified mail). 
  • Your spouse will have 30 days to file an answer (which they typically do not). 
  • At the end of those 30 days, we will file the appropriate motion to get you divorced. 
  • The divorce will likely be entered within 10 to 15 days following the submission of our motion. 
  • You’ll receive a certified true copy of you divorce decree in the mail (and a photocopy via email). 
  • Start to finish, the typical divorce takes 8 weeks.

Meet your Attorney

James Tyler brooks

“My law practice is limited to divorce and family law in Wake County, North Carolina. By limiting my practice to divorce and family law, I’ve been able to obtain a deep level of knowledge within those areas. Because I’ve limited my practice to Wake County, I’ve gotten to know our family court judges and how they tend to rule on certain divorce and family law issues. Knowing their tendencies allows me to better inform my clients, which helps them make good decisions throughout the process. 

I am passionate about helping my clients during this tough time. Family law issues can be expensive, both financially and emotionally. During those tough times, you need excellent legal counsel more than ever.”

– James Brooks

Flat-Fee Uncontested Divorce 

Only $895 (Filing Fees Included)